Selected Poems by Leyla Aliyeva Out

Selected Poems by Leyla Aliyeva Out

A collection of selected poems “The Selected Ones” by the well-known Azerbaijani poet Leyla Aliyeva has been published.

The book which opens with the author’s thought “Many associate my poetry with my emotions, mood, and think that my poems are very sad. In fact, most of those poems are not about me. Most of them express the views, state and excitement of the human soul in general. I believe that poems are sent to me from God. I can hear the lines...” includes series of verses: “Motherland”, “What is life, what is death”, “Where are you, good man of the world?”, “Give me strength, God!”, “Let me go and cry a little”, “Come back in another life.

The author of the foreword to the book, which covers such eternal themes as homeland, life, mercy, death, and love, is Academician Nizami Jafarov. The authors of the translations of the poems are Afaq Masud, the People’s Writer, and Salam Sarvan, the poet-translator. The editor is the writer-translator Yashar Aliyev.

The copies of the edition will be available in the coming days at one of the many bookstore locations listed below:





‘Akademiya’ Book House

‘Baku Book Centre’

‘Chiraq’ Book House

Book House of the Presidential Administration of the Azerbaijan Republic

Sales kiosk of Azerbaijan University of Languages